## **REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING**

Sudan Independent School District March 24, 2008

The School Board of the Sudan Independent School District met in regular session at 7:30 P.M., March 24, 2008, in the Sudan Independent School District's Administrative Office with the following present:

Pam Maxwell, President Greg Lance, Vice President Brent Nelson, Secretary	Chris Larson Greg Harper Mitch Chester Craig Doty
Also Present:	Buddy Lowrance, Superintendent Bryan Davis, High School Principal Bo Lance, Elementary Principal Robin Thacker, Richard Salazar

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 P.M. by President Pam Maxwell. The invocation was given by Greg Lance.

The board recognized the students who have qualified for state competition in the Band Solo and Ensemble UIL Contest, Auto Mechanics, FFCLA, Art student winners in the Scholastic and VASE competition, and the Nettes basketball team. The following students were present at the meeting: **Auto Mechanics** Bryce Kleman; **Band Solo and Ensemble** Marcos Lopez **Nettes Basketball Team** Mariah Steinbock, Brittany Williams, Jacey Davison, Lacee Logan, Desiree King, Amy Tiller, CeCe Williams, Emylee Gonzales, Chelsea Locke, Skylar Sowder, Elina Stahmeyer, Carmen Medrano.

The minutes of the previous meeting/meetings were approved as presented.

The Superintendent's Financial Report was given through February 29<sup>th</sup>, 2008, and approved as

presented.

The Tax Report revealed at \$3,644,269.61 total collections through February 29<sup>th</sup>, 2008.

Robin Thacker, Aramark representative, reviewed the cafeteria program for the year.

Robin Thacker presented the proposed cafeteria budget for the 2008-2009 school year and requested that the contract with the school be renewed for the 2008-09 school year. Upon recommendation by Mr. Lowrance motion by Greg Lance, seconded by Chris Larson for the school to renew the food service contract with Aramark for the 2008-09 school year. Motion carried 7-0.

Upon recommendation by Mr. Lowrance motion by Brent Nelson, seconded by Mitch Chester To pay Mr. Davis a \$2500. Coaching stipend for coaching the varsity boys basketball team During the 2007-08 season. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Lowrance reported to the board that Chris Larson and Mitch Chester were the only two that signed up for the school board election. The deadlines for signing up has passed.

Upon recommendation by Mr. Lowrance motion by Greg Harper, seconded by Greg Lance to cancel the board election due to uncontested status for the positions and that Mitch Chester and Chris Larson are declared elected to the board. Their terms will last until the 2011 board election. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Lowrance reported that the ESC 17 Board of Directors election had been cancelled due to uncontested status.

After final review of the TASB update 82 Mr. Lowrance recommended its adoption.

Motion by Craig Doty, seconded by Brent Nelson to add, revise or delete (LOCAL) policies as recommended by the TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 82. Motion carried 7-0.

Richard Salazar, Director of Public Works, for the City of Sudan addressed the board concerning the school's agricultural barn. Since the school has not used the barn for the last several years it is the city's desire to use the barn for its needs. Mr. Lowrance will have a recommendation at the next board meeting.

Mr. Lance reviewed with the board the recommended 2008-09 school calendar. Upon recommendation by Mr. Lowrance motion by Greg Lance, seconded by Greg Harper that the recommended 2008-09 school calendar be approved as present. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Lance reviewed with the board the DATE grant application. Upon recommendation by Mr. Lowrance, motion by Craig Doty, seconded by Mitch Chester to approve application as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

Mr. Lance and Mr. Davis reviewed with the board some options concerning a new field house. The field house options will be further explored and presented at a future meeting.

Mr. Lowrance reviewed the Costs of Options for 2007-2008.

Mr. Lowrance discussed with the board about the possibility of contracting with Dr. Doug Karr as a financial consultant.

Pam Maxwell discussed with the board about possible upkeep and maintenance work on the School's Superintendent residence.

- Mr. Lance reported on the following:
  - (a) Elementary enrollment of 213, (b) Newsletter, (c) TAKS Testing Results

## Mr. Davis reported on the following:

(a) High School enrollment as 146 with 6 at Pep, (b) Extra-curricular activities, (c)UIL Academic Meet (d) Parent Conferences (e) TAKS testing.

## Mr. Lowrance reported on the following:

(a) Acceptance of resignation due to retirement for Teresa Nance and resignation for Rich Powers. (b) TASB SLI School Board training at San Antonio or Fort Worth in June

Mr. Lance and Mr. Davis presented the board with a list of personnel for consideration of employment for the 2008-09 school year.

The board adjourned into closed session to discuss school personnel and staffing for the 2008-09 school year at 10:24 P.M. according to Chapter 551.074 of the Open Meeting Act. The board returned to open meeting at 11:16 P.M.

Upon recommendation by Mr. Lance, Elementary Principal, and Mr. Lowrance, Superintendent, motion by Brent Nelson and seconded by Mitch Chester to offer 1 year term contracts for the 2008-2009 school year to the following staff members: Rachel Lopez, Teresa Slayden, Joyce Carr, Olga Chavez, Peggy Lowrance, Amanda Cooper, Sherri Doty, DeAnn Wilson, Susan Baker, Shawnda Wood, Cecie Edwards, Jennifer Bellar, Janice Warren, Joyce Welty, Verena Pierce, Marla Durant, Kayela Harrell and Saunya Richards. Motion carried 7-0.

Upon recommendation by Mr. Davis, High School Principal, and Mr. Lowrance, Superintendent, motion by Greg Harper and seconded by Chris Larson to offer one year term contacts for the 2008-09 school year to the following staff members: Kenneth Carr, Jason Cooper, Bill Davis, Annetta Gaasch, Dyke Gaston, Steve Gunter, Neal Kleman, Lisa Logan, Jonathan Robertson, Mary Ellen Robertson, Cheri Sain, Mark Scisson, Belinda Steinbock, Jana Synatschk, Lanette Whitley, Lawrence Altum, Jeff Bellgardt, Guthry Edwards, Stephanie Edwards, D.J. Provence, and Leslie Shaw. Motion carried 7-0.

Benediction was given by Brent Nelson.

Motion by Chris Larson, seconded by Mitch Chester to adjourn meeting at 11:24 P.M.. Motion carried 7-0.

President

Secretary